ASSEMBLY





National Government Constituencies Development Fund Board

Harambee Plaza, 10th Floor

Junction of Haile Selassie Avenue & Uhuru Highway P.O Box 46682-00100

Nairobi, Kenya

Tel: 020-2230015/9, 2230027, 2230032 | Cell: 0709894000

Email: info@cdf.go.ke | Website: www.ngcdf.go.ke

NG-CDF BOARD

OUR REF: NG-CDFB/CEO/KNA/VOL VI (013)

September 24, 2020

Mr. Michael Sialai (EBS),

Clerk of the National Assembly,

Parliament Buildings, Parliament Road,

P O Box 41842-00200,

NAIROBI

Dear Sir.

THE **NOMINEES** TO SUBMISSION OF RE: CONSTITUENCIES DEVELOPMENT FUND COMMITTEES FOR NATIONAL

ASSEMBLY APPROVAL

Further to our letter ref. no. NG-CDFB/CEO/KNA/VOL VI (009) dated August 19, 2020 that forwarded the thirteenth batch of seven (7) Constituencies as well as two (2) resubmitted Constituencies we wish to present a further two (2) Constituencies based on the following premise.

Section 43 subsections (1.) and (2.) of the National Government Constituencies Development Fund (NG-CDF) Act 2015 as amended in 2016 states that:

- "(1) there is established a National Government Constituency Development Fund Committee for every constituency.
- (2) Each Constituency Committee shall comprise—
 - (a.) The national government official responsible for coordination of national government functions;
 - Two men each nominated in accordance with subsection (3), one of whom shall be a youth at the date of appointment;
 - (c.) Two women nominated in accordance with subsection (3), one of whom shall be a youth at the date of appointment;
 - one person with disability nominated by a registered group representing persons with disabilities in the constituency in accordance
 - (e.)two persons nominated by the constituency office established under Regulations made pursuant to the Parliamentary Service Act";

Further, Subsections (3) and (4) provide that: -

- "(3.) the seven persons referred to in subsection (2) (b), (c), (d) and (e) shall be selected in such manner and shall have such qualifications as the Board may, by regulations, prescribe.
- (4.) The names of the persons selected under subsection (3) shall be submitted by the Board to the National Assembly for approval before appointment and gazettement by the Board"

Pursuant to the above, the terms of office for the current National Government Constituencies Development Fund Committees (NGCDFCs) as contained in the following Gazette Notices lapsed as follows:-

- Gazette Notice No. 12015, Dated December 8, 2017 Contained In Vol. Cxix-No. 180, effective December 05, 2017, hence, the members therein in respect of 264 constituencies were set for retirement/renewal on December 04, 2019;
- ii. Gazette Notice No. 673 Dated December 19, 2017 Contained In Vol. Cxx-No. 11, effective December 19, 2017, hence the members therein in respect of 23 constituencies were set for retirement /renewal on December 18, 2019;
- iii. Gazette Notice No. 1718 Dated February 23, 2018 Contained In Vol. Cxx-No. 26, effective February 13, 2018, the members therein in respect of 2 constituencies were set for retirement /renewal on February 12, 2020;
- iv. Via Gazette Notice No. 5702 Dated May 21, 2018, Effective May 21, 2018, hence the members therein in respect of 1 constituency are set for retirement /renewal on May 20, 2020.

The following exceptions were noted whereby replacements had taken place during the aforementioned terms of the Committees and hence the holders of office still have running terms:

a) Embakasi South Constituency

(Entire Committee)

Above Gazetted Via Gazette Notice No. 4856 Dated May, 30th 2019.

- b) Embakasi Central Constituency
- c) Jomvu Constituency
- d) Mandera East Constituency
- e) Ndhiwa Constituency
- f) Nyando Constituency
- g) Ugenya Constituency

(Male Adult Representative) (Female Adult Representative)

(Male Adult Representative)

(Male Adult Representative)

(Male Adult Representative)

(Entire Committee Gazetted)



Above Gazetted Via Gazette Notice No. 7346 Dated August 7th 2019.

h) North Imenti Constituency

(Female Youth Representative and Male Nominee of Constituency Office)

Above Gazetted Via Gazette Notice No. 49, Dated December 30, 2019 Contained In Vol. Cxxii-No. 01, published on January 03/01/2020

Accordingly, the National Government Constituencies Development Fund (NG-CDF) Board during its Board Meeting Number 127 held on October 28, 2019, passed a resolution to initiate the process of reconstitution of NGCDF Constituency Committees pursuant to authority given to it by Section 43(4) of the NGCDF Act 2015. This was in line with the term limits provided for NGCDF Constituency Committees, by Section 43(8) of the NGCDF Act 2015 which states, "The term of office of the members of the Constituency Committee shall be two years and shall be renewable but shall expire upon the appointment of a new Constituency Committee in the manner provided for in the Act, or as maybe approved by the Board," and the need to commence the process of filling in the vacancies created in the membership of the said committees by re-convening Selection Panels in accordance with Regulation 5 of the Regulations to the NGCDF Act.

Pursuant to Sections 43(4) and 43(8) of the NG-CDF Act of 2015 & Regulation 5(10), which provide for National Assembly approval of the nominees for re-appointment or fresh appointment to the National Government Constituencies Development Fund Committees, prior to gazettement by the National Government Constituencies Development Fund Board, as afore stated, we hereby forward the following names for approval by the National Assembly as appear hereunder:-

FRESH SUBMISSIONS

1. KURIA EAST CONSTITUENCY

| NO. | NAME | CATEGORY | STATUTORY PROVISION FOR ASSUMPTION OF POSITION |
|-----|--------------------------------|---|--|
| 1. | Nchagwa Ravasco Mutundi | Male Youth Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 2. | Moris Wambura Magaiwa | Male Adult Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 3. | Mwita Elevian Boke | Female Youth Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 4. | Beatrice Chacha Getang'enyi | Female Adult Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 5. | Mwita Paul Koroso | Representative of Persons Living with Disability | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 6. | Vincent Kerario Otaigo | Nominee of the Constituency Office (Male) | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 7. | Mary Gati Waichoka | Nominee of the Constituency Office (Female) | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |

2. SHINYALU CONSTITUENCY

| NO. | NAME | CATEGORY | STATUTORY PROVISION FOR ASSUMPTION OF POSITION |
|-----|----------------------------|--|--|
| 1. | Benard Isindu Siritiabayi | Male Adult Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 2. | Faith Khamali Gitira | Female Youth Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 3. | Florence Masitsa Isaac | Female Adult Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 4. | Jaune Achesa Shidzugane | Representative of Persons Living with Disability | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 5. | Jamin Mugangayi Lumiti | Nominee of the Constituency Office (Male) | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |
| 6. | Adelaide Deveney Mbuya | Nominee of the Constituency Office (Female) | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |

RESUBMISSIONS

1. EMGWEN CONSTITUENCY (Re-Submitted to complete list of Nominees as earlier submission had only six nominees)

| NO. | NAME | CATEGORY | STATUTORY PROVISION FOR ASSUMPTION OF POSITION |
|-----|---------------|-----------------------------|--|
| 1. | Getrude Sugut | Female Youth Representative | Re-appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(8) |

Yours

YUSUF MBUNO

CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Copy to:

Mr. Saitoti Torome, CBS

Principal Secretary,

State Department of Planning,

The National Treasury and Ministry of Planning,

P.O. Box 30005-00100,

NAIROBI