



EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY Leader Dr. EAST AFRICAN LEGISLATIVE ASSEMBLY Myork

A RESOLUTION OF THE ASSEMBLY COMMEMORATING 20 YEARS OF THE EAST AFRICAN COMMUNITY

(Moved under Articles 49(2)(d), and 59(1) of the Treaty and Rule 26 of the Rules of Procedure of the Assembly)

Moved by Hon. Mathias Kasamba and adopted by the Assembly on $3^{\rm rd}$ October, 2019

WHEREAS the East African Community was established by Article 2 of the Treaty for the Establishment of the East African Community by the Republic of Kenya, the Republic of Uganda and the United Republic of Tanzania with the objective of deepening and widening integration among the Partner States;

AND WHEREAS on 30th November, 1999, their Excellencies Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi and Benjamin William Mkapa signed the Treaty to give birth to the East African Community;

RECOGNISING that the Community originally established by the three Partner States has grown to include the Republic of Burundi and the Republic of Rwanda in 2007 and more recently the Republic of South Sudan in 2016;

FURTHER RECOGNISING that upon the directive of Summit, the East African Community has been observing and commemorating 30th November, every calendar year as the EAC Day;

AWARE that 30th November, 2019 will mark 20 years of the existence of the East African Community;

MINDFUL that during the 20 years, the EAC has deepened and widened integration among the Partner States particularly through the establishment of a Customs Union and a Common Market which have increased trade among the EAC countries to over 20% which is the highest of any Regional Economic Community on the Continent;

FURTHER AWARE that during the 20 years, the Community has achieved several milestones including the introduction of the EAC Passport which cements our heritage and identity as East Africans;

CONSCIOUS of the role of this Assembly, which is the only regional Assembly in the African Union which passes regional legislation; And the Assembly, now in its fourth term has passed several critical laws to establish several institutions of the Community and to deepen and widen the integration of the Community;

GRATEFUL for the vision of their Excellencies Yoweri Kaguta Museveni, Daniel Toroitich Arap Moi and Benjamin William Mkapa, the leadership of the Summit currently under the Chairmanship of His Excellence Paul Kagame and the Council of Ministers and the support of our Development Partners;

FURTHER CONVINCED that whereas there is still a long way to go to achieve full integration, there is need for the Community to celebrate this milestone and highlight the benefits of integration especially to our communities;

AWARE of the provisions of Article 49 (2) (d) of the Treaty, which empowers the Assembly to discuss any matter pertaining to the Community and make recommendations to the Council;

NOW THEREFORE BE IT RESOLVED BY THE ASSEMBLY AS FOLLOWS: -

THAT in accordance with Article 49(2) (d) of the Treaty, the Assembly

- (a) Congratulates His Excellence Paul Kagame, Chairperson Summit and their Excellencies the Heads of State of all the Partner States and the people of East Africa on this milestone of 20 years of the existence of the EAC.
- (b) recommends to the Council of Ministers:
 - a. to develop a programme involving all Organs and Institutions of the Community, the Partner States and the people of East Africa for celebrating and commemorating the 20 years of the existence of the EAC on 30th November, 2019.
 - b. As was the case in 1999, the celebrations should culminate into a Summit on 30th November, hosted by the Chairperson and preceded by activities involving East Africans including greening, sports, cultural and farmers events, youth, persons with disabilities, women and business events and other initiatives reflecting East Africa.

CERTIFIED BY:

ALEX LUMUMBA OBATRE

DEPUTY CLERK OF THE ASSEMBLY

DATE: 3 OCTOBER 2019