

## Re: SUBMISSION OF NOMINEES TO NATIONAL GOVERNMENT CONSTITUENCIES DEVELOPMENT FUND COMMITTEES FOR NATIONAL ASSEMBLY APPROVAL

Reference is made to the above matter and previous correspondence on the same resting with our letter Ref: **NG-CDFB-CEO-KNA/VOL VI (14)** dated March 08, 2023 submitting nominees to NG-CDF Committees for two constituencies.

Section 43(1) and (2) of the National Government Constituencies Development Fund (NG-CDF) Act 2015 states that:

"(1) There is established a National Government Constituency Development Fund Committee for every constituency.

(2) Each Constituency Committee shall comprise of —

- (a.) the national government official responsible for coordination of national government functions;
- (b.) two men each nominated in accordance with subsection (3), one of whom shall be a youth at the date of appointment;
- (c.) two women nominated in accordance with subsection (3), one of whom shall be a youth at the date of appointment;
- (d.) one person with disability nominated by a registered group representing persons with disabilities in the constituency in accordance with subsection (3); and
- (e.) two persons nominated by the constituency office established under Regulations made pursuant to the Parliamentary Service Act";

Celebrating 20 years of positively impacting lives



Further, Section 43 (3) and (4) provides that: -

"(3) The seven persons referred to in subsection (2) (b), (c), (d) and (e) shall be selected in such manner and shall have such qualifications as the Board may, by regulations, prescribe. (4) The names of the persons selected under subsection (3) shall be submitted by the Board to the National Assembly for approval before appointment and gazettement by the Board."

In light hereof, the Board has received and processed submission of nominees under various categories from Balambala, Gatanga and Nyeri Town Constituencies.

The National Assembly had approved nominees for the said constituencies and the nominees consequently gazetted vide Gazette Notices No. 254 and 276. The constituencies are seeking to make new appointments following vacancies arising from resignations under the respective categories.

Based on the foregoing and in compliance with section 43(4) of the National Government Constituencies Development Funds Act, we herewith forward names of the nominees for the under listed Three (3) constituencies for consideration and approval by the National Assembly before gazettement by the Board.

## 1. BALAMBALA CONSTITUENCY

| No. | Name             | Category                                   | Statutory Provision for<br>Assumption of Position |
|-----|------------------|--|---|
| 1.  | Abdi Shale Bulle | Nominee of the Constituen<br>Office (Male) | to Sec.43(2)(e)                                   |

## 2. GATANGA CONSTITUENCY

| No. | Name                    | Category   | Statutory Provision for<br>Assumption of Position |
|-----|-------------------------|--|---|
| 1.  | Dominic Nzau Kinyanzwii | Male Adult Representative                          | Appointment, pursuant to Sec. 43(2)(b)            |
| 2.  | David Kinyanjui Mwaura  | Representative of Persons Living with Disabilities | Appointment, pursuant to Sec.43(2)(d)             |

## 3. NYERI TOWN CONSTITUENCY

| No. | Name               | Category                    | Statutory Provision for<br>Assumption of Position |
|-----|--------------------|-----------------------------|---|
| 1.  | Jane Ngunju Mwangi | Female Adult Representative | Appointment, pursuant<br>to Sec.43(2)(b)          |

In light of the above, it is noted that Section 50(5)(d) of the National Government Constituencies Development Fund Act, the National Assembly Select Committee on the NG-CDF is mandated to consider and report to the National Assembly, with recommendations, names of persons required to be approved by the National Assembly under the Act. In this regard, the above list of nominees is forwarded to you for necessary action.

Yours Lucarel The Chief Executive Officer National Government Constituencies Development Fund Board YUSUF MBUNO P. O. Box 45682 - 00100, Nairobi CHIEF EXECUTIVE OFFICER

Copy to:

Mr. James Muhati

Principal Secretary, State Department for Economic Planning, The National Treasury and Economic Planning, P.O. Box 30005-00100, NAIROBI.

